Indira Gandhi Peace Prize 2012: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

Liberian President and Nobel laureate Ellen Johnson Sirleaf on 19 November 2012 was chosen for 2012 Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development for being an inspiration to women and ensuring return of peace and democracy in her country.
The award is set up by Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust with an international jury chaired by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.
The Indira Gandhi Prize is being awarded to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf for serving as an example and inspiration to women in Africa and beyond and for ensuring the return of peace, democracy, development, security and order in Liberia.
Ellen Johnson Sirleaf who is the 24th President of Liberia was commended by the jury for her strong interest in the consolidation and improvement of Liberia’s relations with India. She was risen to the Presidency becoming the first elected female head of state of the African continent.
Ellen Johnson Sirleaf took over office as the President of Liberia in 2006 acquiring a legacy of distrust, disharmony and mismanagement. She had successfully restored financial health her country which was on the verge of fiscal breakdown.
About Indira Gandhi Peace Prize
The Indira Gandhi Prize or the Indira Gandhi Peace Prize or the Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development is the prestigious award accorded annually by India to individuals or organizations in recognition of creative efforts toward promoting international peace, development and a new international economic order; ensuring that scientific discoveries are used for the larger good of humanity, and enlarging the scope of freedom. The prize carries a cash award of 25 lakh Indian rupees and a citation. A written work, in order to be eligible for consideration, should have been published. The panel constituted by the Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust consists of prominent national and international personalities including previous recipients. The recipients are chosen from a pool of national and international nominees.
1986 Parliamentarians for Global Action , International Organisation of Parliamentarians
1987 Mikhail Gorbachev,  Russia , Former Soviet Union Leader
1988 Gro Harlem Brundtland, Norway , Former Prime Minister of Norway
1990 Sam Nujoma , Namibia,  First President of Namibia
1991 Rajiv Gandhi,  India,  Former Prime Minister of India (posthumous)
1992 Saburo Okita,  Japan,  Japanese Economist
1993 Václav Havel, Czech Republic , 1st President of the Czech Republic
1994 Trevor Huddleston,  Anti-Apartheid Activist
1995      Olusegun Obasanjo,  Nigeria,  12th President of Nigeria
1996 Médecins Sans Frontières , Voluntary Organisation
1997 Jimmy Carter,  United States , 39th President of the United States
1998 Muhammad Yunus,  Bangladesh,  Founder of Grameen Bank
1999 M S Swaminathan,  India,  Indian Agricultural Scientist
2000 Mary Robinson,  Ireland,  7th President of Ireland
2001 Sadako Ogata,  Japan,  Former United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
2002 Shridath Ramphal,  2nd Commonwealth Secretary-General
2003 Kofi Annan,  Ghana,  7th United Nations Secretary General
2004 Maha Chakri Sirindhorn , Thailand,  Princess of Thailand
2005 Hamid Karzai , Afghanistan,  1st President of Afghanistan
2006 Wangari Maathai , Kenya,  Environmental and Political activist
2007 Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation,  United States, Charitable Foundation
2008 Mohamed ElBaradei,  Egypt 4th Director General of the IAEA
2009 Sheikh Hasina,  Bangladesh,  Prime Minister of Bangladesh
2010 Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva , Brazil,  Ex-President of Brazil
2011 Ela Bhatt,  India,  Founder of SEWA